September Conferences

Posted: June 24, 2011 in openstreetmap, postgresql
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m planning on attending two conferences this September in Denver. The first conference is the annual OpenStreetMap State Of The Map‘ September 9-11. This year will mark the first time since I’ve been involved with OpenStreetMap that the main State Of The Map conference has been held in North America. I am looking forward to putting faces to names and meeting lots of awsome mappers. I might be giving a talk on new features in PostgreSQL 9.1 at the conference but they haven’t yet accepted talks or announced the schedule.

Following State Of the Map I will be hanging around in Denver for FOSS4G 2011 (September 12-16). FOSS4G is the annual conference for open source geo-spatial software. I will be giving a talk on ‘PostGIS replication‘ where I will give an overview of built in replication and Slony. My blog post comparing Slony and 9.0 replication is by far the most popular post on this blog, and the talk will expand on that material.

They are expecting about 1000 people to attend FOSS4G this year. I am expecting there to be a lot of maps and talk about maps. In addition to my talk there are many other PostGIS/PostgreSQL talks on the schedule. If your going to be attending a conference related to databases this September what better place to be than Denver? The early registration discounts end on June 30’th so remember to register before the price goes up

Leave a Reply

