Denver, Day 0

Posted: September 10, 2011 in openstreetmap
Tags: , , , , , ,

Friday morning I woke up and got an early start to my workday so I could get a full days work in before leaving for Denver. I did not get a Slony release packaged on Friday but Chris might get to this early next week.

The cab ride, checkin, and US customs (you clear US customs in Toronto before departure) were mostly un-noteworthy. There were no big delays or holdsups at Airport security, I was directed into a line for a scanner that was shared with an Air Crew line and a large (5 people?) United crew skipped in ahead of me. One of them apologized (but didn’t offer to wait their turn in line) she said she was based out of Denver and that they were flying to Chicago. The weather was rainy when she left Denver. I also noticed that the million+ dollar full body airport scanners were sitting in the middle of the room unused (Sept 9, 2011).

The flight to Denver was pretty un-noteworthy, clear skies with some light chop at times. United Express is a bit behind the times and hasn’t upgraded their planes to include laptop power. On arrival at Denver we sat at the gate for about 5 minutes as they tried to get the gate to move (so it would line up with the airplane door). They almost resorted to having to push the airplane into position. It sounded like rebooting the gate helped, isn’t technology great.

In Denver I am staying at the Sheraton which is hosting FOSS4G. The hotel seems nice but the rooms don’t have a fridge. They have a box that looks like a fridge, enough so that I went out and bought a jug of orange juice for the week only to discover that the fridge looking box is am empty. Bye-bye warm Orange juice.

After checking in and getting a feel for the area it was a little after 10pm local (midnight eastern) and I noticed many restaurants were starting to close. I went on a hunt for a small dinner. I found Wild Bangkok a Thai place that was still open. When I walked in I was greeted by a guy who wasn’t really dressed like a waiter but he took me to a seat at the bar, handed me a menu, told me how this was really authentic thai and stood there talking to me as I looked through the menu. On each page of the menu he said that the restaraunts specialty was something else, first page seafood, second page curries, third page bowls. I finally ordered a Bangkok bowl with tofu, mostly because I didn’t want to examine the menu more closely with this guy staring at me. As far as Thai food goes it was okay but nothing special. Later I noticed the ‘waiter’ sitting at a table being served drinks. A bartender in a uniform served me my food and gave me my bill.

I am now (Saturday morning) going to try to find my way to the SOTM conference site.

Leave a Reply

